Home Stay Experience

One Night Home Stay. Though, it is a late post, this experience was interesting for me and I think I need to tell the story. It was my first experience to live with Japanese people. A few days before, I felt very nervous imagining how it would be like. Since I had never got any Japanese friends before, I could not figure out how I should behave. Nevertheless, I convinced my self that everything gonna be alright. Yes, that time, I was going to spend a night and a day with Saka family. Feeling excited!

Saka family

Saka family

The first time I met Saka family, I was amazed. They are so friendly. They welcomed me warmly. Though they spoke English a little, we had had long conversations. They asked me to cook meals together. They taught me how to cook pizzas and Okonomiyaki in Hiroshima style. Hiroshima style Okonomiyaki is rarely found in Indonesia, even in Tokyo. Also, I have never cooked Japanese food before. They also taught me Shuji, Japanese calligraphy. Well, it was exciting to write Shuji, because I think it is cool. I loved anime. Many Japanese calligraphy can be found in many Japanese popular arts, including anime.

The little bro's teaching me how to cook Okonomiyaki

The little bro’s teaching me how to cook Okonomiyaki

Party with other families, delicious foods, everywhere :9

Party with other families, delicious foods, everywhere :9

We also had a party on the Saturday night with other Hippo families. It was really fun. We played some games together. Fortunately, the other families came with the Indonesian students too, so we introduced ourselves in Bahasa Indonesia, Japanese, and English. There were many Japanese foods. It was my first time to try Sushi. All the foods were delicious. I was also taught to cook Takoyaki. I played the guitar and other Indonesians sang the Indonesian, Japanese, and English songs for the families. I was very delighted to entertain all the people in the party.

Home Stay Experience

Home Stay Experience

Though it was very short, they have given me so many experiences. I was confused how to pay that. They asked me to cook Indonesian food for them in the next time I come, so I have to keep that promise. Thank you very much, Saka family🙂

Posted on Saturday, 2 November 2013, in YSEP. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Comments are closed.

